Home > Uncategorized > In Which The Writer Assures You He Is Still Alive

In Which The Writer Assures You He Is Still Alive

Yes, I still live. Things have been hectic around here, though in all honesty, no more hectic than they usually are. The real reason for my absence is that I finished the sixth and seventh books in the Harry Potter series.

The end of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince made me cry, but did not hit me nearly as hard as the events in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Never have I seen an author so ready and willing to kill so many of my favorite characters quite so quickly.

After putting down Deathly Hallows, I found myself having mixed feelings. On the one hand, it was a happy ending and left me feeling as such. But on the other hand, I realized there would be no more Potter books to come. I was overwhelmingly sad, yet a little excited to no longer have to say “I would love to start that series of books, but I should really finish Harry Potter first.”

I’ve started Tick Tock by Dean Koontz.

There’s a man in a small white car that shows up every two weeks, mows our lawn, then disappears. He turns up a few days later, to accept his payment of fifteen dollars, then he disappears again. He hasn’t been round in almost a month, and our lawn is a small jungle now.

A very nice police officer noticed.

“You’re gonna have to mow this lawn, sir.” he said. I told him the story of the mysterious hispanic man who has been visiting us for years. “Well, the city is really cracking down on people with unkempt lawns. I hate fining people for it, but it’s my job.”

“I understand.” I said, readying myself for what I was certain to be another in a long line of financial blows.

“I can give you a max of five days.” he said. I blinked at him. “To get it mowed.”

“And after five days?”

“I’ll have to fine you a hundred and twenty dollars.” he said in an apologetic tone.

“I’m afraid I have no number for our mysterious landscaper. I also happen to not have a mower.”

“You can get one at Wal-Mart for a hund- Well…” he stammered.

“A hundred and twenty dollars?” I asked. He laughed and nodded.

So it appears that we’ll be spending a hundred and twenty either way.

Still planning a sort of date night with the wife this weekend, dinner and a movie, but I’m not sure how things will work out now.

There’s a Classic Science Fiction Channel now. I’m not sure that Journeyman and Sliders fit into what I would classify as “Classic Science Fiction”, but I am happy to see Firefly up there.

Have a list of places to find unabridged books online.

Right. Reading, then sleep.

  1. June 5, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    $120 fine for your LAWN? Those cops have too much time on their hands.

  1. June 27, 2008 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

