Home > Uncategorized > The World is Dead, Long Live the World

The World is Dead, Long Live the World

I’ve decided that “the gubment” should send out stimulus checks every month. It’s awesome being able to pay a bunch of bills and order a stack of comics from an online retailer.

So! I need one of the following to take place:

1: I need to get a better paying job.

2: I need to win the lottery.

C: I need to convince the fine folks at the U.S. Government to send me $900 every month for no good reason.

Right now, none of them seem very plausible.

One of the things purchased on our government funded shopping spree was the Heroes Vol. 1 trade paperback, complete with a sweet Alex Ross cover:

Ain’t it spiffy? The answer is yes. Yes it is.

SIDE NOTE: I cannot see one of Alex Ross’ beautiful painted covers without remembering how he once approached me wearing a little paper “Krispy Kreme” hat and gave me a free donut.

Yes it was really him.

No I’m not hallucinating.

I also bought an Iron Man bobble head. It’s sitting on my desktop bobbling at me right now. Drunk bastard.

The cat is yelling at me from the bedroom. I don’t understand the feline language, but if I did, I’d imagine this would be her telling me to go to bed.

Or really; “Come lay down so I can bump my nose against yours, causing you mixed feelings of both immense pain and awe at my adorableness!”

She’s lousy with cute.

A grown man having an argument with a cat at 4:30am is one of those “You can’t write this stuff!” moments.

We also saw Wanted which was very fun. It’s a brainless popcorn action flick, so be prepared to shut your brain off before viewing or it may explode from all the “But wait, how is that- I mean, that’s not even- Wait, so they get their orders from a- Well, that’s stu- Wait, is that a-” that will certainly be going through your head durring the movie.

Glad to support Top Cow’s film ventures, though. Although I’ve heard it varies a lot from the comic (which I’ve ordered online and will be reading in a couple of weeks), and the next film on the agenda is a Witchblade movie, so hopefully the whole change-the-plot-keep-the-names thing won’t be a philosophy we’ll see them adopt with that one.

Iron Man is nodding his agreement with everything I type. As I type it.

So, plus side of government money:

Bills paid.

Oil change.

Iron Man bobbling at me.

Alex Ross giving me a donut (not directly related to government money)

Ordering the second volume of Batman: Hush, the second volume of Astonishing X-Men, the third volume of Superman/Batman, and The Art of Witchblade and not feeling guilty about doing so.

Seeing movies

Downside of government money:

It’s gone too quickly.

I want to die with a bottle of Starbucks’ Dark Chocolate Mocha in my hand.

My eyelids are slipping closed and the cat is winning this argument. Sleep time.

P.S. I will discuss the Doctor Who finale in a forthcoming blog that will probably be titled something similar to “How Doctor Who Hornswaggled Me And Made Me Cry”.

  1. July 7, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    The Hereos book was kind of meh.

    :|

    Sry.

  2. Rob Kaas
    July 9, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Mike:

    I really enjoyed it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

