Home > Uncategorized > A Real Blog Full of Links and Words and the Love of A Man on Caffiene

A Real Blog Full of Links and Words and the Love of A Man on Caffiene

Today was the sort of day when you feel completely comfortable sitting in front of a computer with a cup of coffee and writing. It was the sort of day when the ideas flow and the words come with them and it all just sort of falls into place.

Last night, I opened Google Docs and wrote an opening line:

John was tall and lean and some would call him quite handsome, but facts were facts: John was built to kill.

And thought “That’s pretty good” which is something I rarely think of my own writing. This morning, the story that went along with that opening line finished brewing in my skull and I wrote it.

It’s entitled “John From Accounting”, it’s extremely short, and it can be found here.

I then thought “What if I did a short collection thingy of short story thingies with a horror theme?” and then I stopped thinking and started writing.

The result, which is entitled “CREATURES”, and may or may not be finished, is here.

It’s seperated into four parts, each with a different take on very old, very recognizable… Well, creatures. (although some may argue the first story isn’t really a creature feature)

Now that I’ve shoved my own wares at you, it’s time I did so for a few others who have new stuff out.

Ben Templesmith has a new collection coming out, entitled WELCOME TO HOXFORD, and I plan on picking it up very soon. You can buy it from Amazon by clicking the cover image below:

Wil Wheaton just released (read: TODAY) a book entitled SUNKEN TREASURE: Wil Wheaton’s Hot Cocoa Box Sampler and it comes in two flavors: A U.S. edition and a A World edition. The world edition features the same content, but it’s larger and will save you out-of-the-country types a lot of money in shipping charges, so I suggest you thank Mr. Wheaton.

Neil Gaiman isn’t selling anything. But Coraline is currently out and it is currently in 3D. However, it will only be in 3D for another two weeks. Then it will be bumped from its theaters by The Jonas Brothers 3D movie and you will have to settle for the 2D version (which, as I understand it, is just as beautiful and not much of a sacrifice anyway).

As an aside, the Coraline website (linked above) has a lot of neat little features that allow you grow your own flower, explore Coraline’s house and even button your eyes.

Like this:

The teaser trailer for Quentin Tarantino’s WWII epic, Inglorious Basterds, is pretty nifty.

(also, I’m not sure why it’s spelled Basterds as opposed to Bastards)

SFSignal.Com asks What’s the most difficult part of being a writer?

To which I laugh and say “The hours.”

Actually, someone nailed it on the head in the comment section when they said “writing”. The act of sitting down and forcing the words and sounds and imagery in your head out and onto the page, making a point of not procrastinating, and not just talking about writing.

It can be deceptively hard to just write sometimes. Anyone who is truly a writer will probably understand that, anyone who is not will scratch their heads and think “But you’re a writer… Why isn’t writing the easiest part of being a writer?” and, honestly, I do not know the answer to that.

Well, this entry isn’t nearly as long as I’d hoped it’d be and it still somehow managed to be mostly links to other people’s blogs, but at least I gave you a little insight this time around.

I’m extremely tired and my hindquarters are numb, so I think I’ll go and actually read instead of writing this time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

