Home > Uncategorized > A Few Things Before Cleaning

A Few Things Before Cleaning

Hello, world. How’s everything? Good? Yeah.

So just a few quick things here, then I get to vaccum:

1: This whole Prop 8 thing is just fucking madness. Since when is Iowa more forward-thinking than California? No offense intended to anyone from Iowa, but… Come on, it’s Iowa.

I’m not one to think ill of people for having an opinion, much less strong personal beliefs, but I simply cannot wrap my head around someone wanting to deny any human being the right to marry the person they love more than anything in the world. For any reason.

The idea of someone essentially saying “Marriage is a beautiful union of two people who are deeply in love and want to spend the rest of their lives together. The right to marry should be defended with our lives, because without the love of those we wish to marry, our lives would not be worth fighting for.

Unless, of course, you both have the same set of genitals. Then it’s just WRONG.”

It all just seems so weird and strange and it makes me very, very sad.

2: I remember occasionally staying up late with my grandparents to watch The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. That love of Carson transitioned into a love of a lot of old comedy (Jack Benny, Abbot and Costello, Bob Hope, etc.). I remember Carson’s last show and I remember the act of passing the torch from one who has been a staple for years, Johny, to the new kid taking over, Jay Leno.

I watched that again last night. This time, it was Leno passing the torch to Conan O’Brien. Leno did the montages, he did the thank yous, all of that. He interviewed Conan, he showed clips from their past, it was all very touching and real.

Then he ended the show by answering the question “What will be your legacy?”

His answer was to tell a story about a member of the Tonight Show Band having a baby in the first few weeks of them being on the air, the first “Tonight Show Baby”, so to speak. He showed a picture of that baby, then introduced the seventeen year old young woman she had grown into.

A curtain rose and there stood sixty-eight other children, ranging from babies to teenagers, all born of marriages or relationships between people who found love on the Tonight Show, people whose lives were profoundly changed forever by their experiences working on a television show.

“That’s what I’d like my legacy to be.” Leno said, “When these kids grow up and they go, `Hey, mom and dad, where did you guys meet?’, they’re going to say they met on the stage of The Tonight Show.”

He didn’t cry, he didn’t choke up, he just said goodbye. Say what you will about Jay Leno, say what you will about whether or not he tickles your funny bone, but anyone watching last nights episode would see a truly classy guy moving on to the next chapter of his life.

3: At some point between the time I went to bed last night and the time I woke up this morning, something bit my arm. There’s now a itchy/painful bump. I keep checking to see if I’m getting any powers, but so far, no. No sticking to walls for me.

YET.

4: Allergies are starting to sneak up on me and kick my noses ass. I find this to be unpleasent.

5: Yesterday Danielle came home and surprised me by presenting me with a large sandwich and the first volume of X-Men on DVD (the 90s animated series!). I was having a fairly awful day and she just decided to smack me in the face with a pile of various delicious meats and cheeses on an entire loaf of bread whilst getting me a DVD set I’ve been waiting for for over a decade.

This is reason infinity-billion and seven that I love this woman.

6: Someone disagreed with my taste in films last night. ON THE INTERNET. I’m going to give you a moment to let that soak in. I know, I know, it’s hard. This is clearly the first time ever that someone on the internet has disagreed with someone elses taste in something, so we should all run and mark it on the calender.

7: When I started this blog post, I got as far as halfway through my Tonight Show bit, before I had to urinate (too much information? no such thing). So I left the computer for five minutes and when I returned, I found it had froze for some reason. I called my computer a “son of a cocking cunt” and vaccumed the house whilst waiting for the computer to restart.

This is vital information.

There was more, but my long since broken mind can’t seem to recall what else I wanted to say.

So I may or may not blog again later.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED KIND OF.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

