Home > Uncategorized > A New World, A White World

A New World, A White World

I awoke this morning to the world being covered in a sparkling white powder of ice and cold, the wind was biting and unforgiving. As I had predicted in my last entry, winter has officially arrived.

I walked around in it a bit today, ventured outside of my warm little bubble and into the harsh wind to purchase a loaf of bread and some egg nog. I had made the trek specifically for bread, so that we would have it with dinner. The egg nog is gone, yet the bread remains untouched. The pizza we had instead now sits uncomfortably in the bottom of my stomach and I find myself wishing we had eaten the bread.

Tomorrow will find us paying many bills and hopefully getting some Christmas shopping done.

I lead a painfully interesting life, don’t I?

The wonderful website Mental Floss, which is a site worth checking on a daily basis, recently posted this entry about an episode of the seres How It’s Made (one of my favorites, as well) in which they show how to make a vinyl record. It’s really quite interesting, especially to fans of vinyl.

Part One:

Part Two:

In honor of Empire Magazine’s 20th anniversary, they’ve invited back a few big names to reappear in character from some of their favorite roles. There’s a very neat Silence of the Lambs one with Sir Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster, even one with Sam Neil trying to lure a T-Rex with a shiny road flare, but this was the one that caught my attention:

Fantastic image of Mel Gibson in the William Wallace facepaint. Very stirring.

The rest are here.

Amanda Palmer will be holding another of her fabulous webcasts tomorrow (Friday) evening at 11pm EST.

According to her Twitter page:

there will be wine, stuff auctioned (we have x-mas cards!), an “absolute death” giveaway, wine, i’ll play ukulele & if forced, piano.

It will be held, as all of the previous casts have, here.

Right. I’m off to shower, then read for a bit, then sleep the sleep of a man with much to do tomorrow.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

