Home > Uncategorized > Five Years

Five Years

Five Years ago, I was a man who had just been let go from his job. I lived at home with my parents, the highlight of my week was whenever I could next introduce alcohol to my liver, and I was pining for a woman I thought would never love me as much as I loved her.

Until she gave me her heart.

It’s a story many of you who know me have already heard many times. It starts with us meeting on an internet messageboard, it progresses through bad relationships, through us being there for one another to get beyond those bad relationships, through us spending so many hours on the phone together that everyone else knew something was there before we did, to her giving me her heart and my asking her if she’d been drinking.

The very first chapter of a story that has lasted five years so far, and a story I hope will never end.

When I look back to who I was as a person before I started the journey I’m currently on, I see someone too blinded by the past to care about the future. I see someone spending too much time inside his own head. When I look in the mirror now, I see a man with no regrets, a man who is content and happy and proud of who he is. I see that I have been made a better man.

She went from being words on a screen to being my best friend, my partner, my everything. These last five years, though we’ve had our share of rocky patches along the way, have been the best years of my life.

People have asked how we spent our anniversary this year. We spent it much the same way we usually spend our anniversaries (and, let’s be honest, the other 364 days out of the year), curled on the couch watching anime. Granted, when we can afford it, we’ll do the classic dinner/movie thing, but the big day itself was very lazy and comfortable and just plain fun.

Happy anniversary, baby. I love you so much.

  1. April 23, 2010 at 6:49 am

    gosh its been 5 years? time flies
    I am so happy for you both finding people that fit together in their lives :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

