Home > Uncategorized > Obligatory Post: December 31st 2011 Edition

Obligatory Post: December 31st 2011 Edition

Every year, around this time, various blogs and websites do a long and drawn out list of some sort. Usually a BEST(/WORST) OF 2011 or a TOP XX THINGS TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2012 or a 2012 IS HERE AND THIS IS HOW WE’LL DIE.

I’m not doing one of those. Well, I sort of am, but I’m keeping it rather brief.

A lot of good things happened in 2011. Not a lot of exciting things, but still. Good things.

GOOD 2011 THINGS

I celebrated my fifth year at my current job, which may not seem like a good thing to some people, but in this economy, I’m thankful for every day that I’m not jobless. As should everyone else with a job.

Some great geek movies came out, like Captain America and Thor.

I didn’t die.

But it wasn’t all good.

BAD 2011 THINGS

This year was pretty financially tight, as it was for many people. My parents have been hit hard by the economy, especially, and it’s difficult for me to not have the ability to help them out more or support them.

Some not so great geek movies came out, like Green Lantern or Green Fucking Lantern.

None of my enemies died.

2012 promises to be better, but I recall saying that in December of 2010.

SUPER AWESOME 2012 THINGS

I’m going to continue to lose weight. I say continue to, because I’ve been losing weight for most of this year. I’ve started walking to work every day, which is a twenty minute walk each way, and I’ve really buckled down on what I eat. Between my last doctor’s visit before I started walking to work (sometime around May) and my most recent clinic trip that wasn’t an emergency (sometime in September), I had lost almost thirty pounds. I haven’t weighed myself since then, and I’m sure I’ve put back on a bit of that weight over the holidays, but I’m continuing on in my current routine and hope to work in some more serious cardio at some point (jogging? treadmill?).

2012 is shaping up to be the year of the nerd movie, with The Dark Knight Rises, The Avengers, The Hobbit and a huge list of others all opening between January and December.

I’ve just today received my tickets to the March 30th live recording of the Nerdist podcast in Minneapolis and I’m thrilled. I haven’t been to a nerdy gathering like this in a long time, so I’m very excited.

I plan on continuing to not die.

And finally, my resolutions:

RESOLUTIONS 2012

1: The weight thing mentioned above.
2: Write more.
3: Read more.
4: See more movies in the theater.
5: Collect all of the comics.
6: Avoid taking an arrow to the knee.
7: Learn Japanese.
8: Buy a new computer.
9: Blog more.
10: Less Kardashians.

That’s it. My last blog entry of 2011. Time moves far too fast, I do wish it would slow down and let me enjoy it more.

Here’s hoping you have a safe New Year’s Eve, are not too hungover on New Year’s Day, and that 2012 is the year everything happens for you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

