Home > Uncategorized > I Am Now Twenty-Eight Years Old

I Am Now Twenty-Eight Years Old

Adjust your score cards accordingly.

My birthday was yesterday, which was very nice, if uneventful. Many fine people wished me a happy birthday, I had a cupcake, it was all pretty great.

First off, the splendid Chris Hayner has turned his focus back to BadSequels.Com, which is up and running and features a few structural tweaks (as well as a new contributor), but is mostly the same great website it has been since he’s started it. I’ve done two reviews recently: Ginger Snaps 2: Unleashed and Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning, both of which are sequels to, you guessed it, Ginger Snaps, which happens to be one of my favorite werewolf movies.

I’ve started reading The Nerdist Way: How to Reach The Next Level (In Real Life) by Chris Hardwick. And by “started reading”, I mean I’m already halfway through it. I haven’t tried any of the stuff in the book yet, so I can’t attest to how much it will help, but I will say that merely the act of reading it has motivated me in changing a few aspects of my life. A few aspects I had not even thought of changing before, actually. I’m going to try implementing the system detailed in the book and see if it helps me with things I’ve already been struggling with (weight loss, self doubt, etc.) and the things that I’m going to start working on for the first time. I’m pretty excited, but also a bit fearful (which is really “The Nerdist Way”), and I’m already afraid I’ve jinxed my success by talking about starting this program here. So, I clearly have a lot to change, anyway.

Wish me luck.

I follow a lot of people on Tumblr. People with opinions, blogs that specialize in the goofy or mundane shit I find funny or interesting. One of these people is Steve Marmel. You might not know his name, but you might know some of the shows he’s worked on (Johnny Bravo, Cow & Chicken, I Am Weasel are all some of my favorite “classic” Cartoon Network shows, but he’s also done a lot of work on The Fairly Odd-Parents at Nickelodeon). He’s also a pretty opinionated guy, which I like.

In this blog post he writes, about Comic-Con:

I think #SDCC really worked the kinks out. (Four day badges sold out, I’m 31,000th in line.)

Here’s the thing. I’ll probably get a professional badge. I’m fine. But I *like* to buy the badge and I like to support the event.

And I also like to know just how difficult it is for regular fans to get in now. The answer? It seems like it’s a nightmare.

Anyway, I’m going back to bed. Or watching DC Nation. Or sleeping on the couch to find as DC nation plays in the background.

Either way, if you were struggling to get a badge, know this: You were not alone.

I reblogged it and added:

I haven’t been to CCI in San Diego since the first half of the last decade (jesus christ), but when I did go, it was nowhere near this difficult to get in. I keep hearing horror stories from friends who have gone in the last few years regarding, not just the level of difficulty in obtaining a badge, but the sheer insanity of the event itself. Comic-Con International was HUGE when I was going to it, but it seems as though it’s turned into something resembling The Blob (the sci-fi/horror movie about an ever-growing, ever-hungry, people-eating gelatinous mass, not the X-Men villain).

I love Comic-Con and will definitely be in attendance again, someday, but at the rate things are going I’m actually afraid to even bother. If I’m able, by some miraculous turn of events, to actually snag a four-day badge, who’s to say that the event will even be worth the trouble to attend? There really is such a thing as an event what is too large, and I fear CCI is becoming just that.

I’m also still sad to hear that WonderCon has moved to Anaheim, because I feel it really fits in better in San Francisco.

All of which is true. I don’t know what can be done about this situation, but eventually Comic-Con will grow to be TOO large and TOO difficult to attend and most people won’t even want to go anymore. I don’t think Comic-Con is in any danger of no longer having a shit-ton of people attend it any time soon, but still, it does sort of make you want to see what other conventions might be out there. Maybe there are some smaller ones that are less hectic and easier to manage your time in attendance. As I said, WonderCon has moved to Anaheim, but my fear is that it, too, will grow too large and out of control.

I attended Wizard World L.A. one year and it was a wonderful time. Much smaller than CCI or WonderCon, but still large enough to attract a great list of writers/artists/celebrities. I’m not sure if they still put that one on anymore, as I’ve been out of California for many years now, but if Wizard World L.A. is still a thing, that’s one opportunity. I’ve heard ImageExpo was an amazing experience, but I don’t know if they plan on it being an annual thing or not.

There are times I miss Comic-Con International, moreso around the time of year when a lot of people I know are attending and keep tweeting photos of themselves there, enjoying the enormity of it all, but as I said before, I’m honestly getting to the point where I’m afraid to go back. I’m afraid that any sort of “HOLY SHIT THIS IS TOO MUCH” feelings I might get in attending what Comic-Con has become might overshadow my memories of having fun and enjoying the craziness of it way-back-when.

I have no idea how to end this post, so I will do so with the following animated image. No, I don’t know either.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

