Home > 2013, Personal, Thoughts > May in Minnesota

May in Minnesota

We are nearly done with the next to last week in this, the month of May, and we have traded snow for rain. We have seen the sun but once or twice in the last week or two, but for the first time since last year, I welcome the clouds, for they bring the sweet humid showers of spring rain and not the bitter frost of snow and ice. We struggled against the brute force of winter for far too long this year, and I am happy to say that we have won. We are free.

I stood in the rain this afternoon for no damn reason other than to let it dance atop my head and to feel it trickle down my face. I watched it collect into a puddle at the end of my driveway, each individual drop from the heavens causing little rings to circle outward in a pattern of pure visual poetry. I kicked off my sandals and felt the wet grass on my feet. I heard birds chirping from the trees above and the water gushing into a nearby sewer drain. The distinctive scent of wet sidewalk wafted through the air and caught my nose, instantly bringing a rush of memories from childhood to the forefront of my mind. Rainy afternoons spent running through the neighborhood, against my mother’s wishes, with friends, letting the rain drench us before rushing home for time spent on indoor activities. It was nice.

The rain mingled with the sweat on my brow and I was sure to re-enter my air conditioned home before my clothes became too heavy with water.

Later, I took the bus to the local market to buy lunch and along the way had a very interesting conversation with an elderly woman about the weather of the world today.

“I don’t know why so many people don’t understand global warming is a real thing.” she said, “The weather across the world is so weird lately. So many horrible things are happening, from nature, and they’re all too blind to see we’re the cause.”

We spoke of the horrible events that took place in Oklahoma, discussed whether or not people in our own state are prepared for a similar tornado, and she spoke more about how we have all of these wonderful technological advances in this day and age, yet no one can come up with a viable plan to stop climate change that any of the people in power will pay any mind to.

“The people in charge don’t care about the weather because they think they’re protected by their big expensive homes, but they’re tune will change when those homes are reduced to rubble by these weird weather patterns that have been happening.” she said, “It’ll all be too late by then, of course. I’ll be dead by the time anyone finally figures out how to fix what’s wrong.”

“I’m afraid it might already be too late to fix what’s wrong.” I said. She stared out the window at the rain for a moment before speaking.

“That’s a terrible thought.” she said. Then we spoke of nicer things, like how her granddaughter is starting school soon and what produce was on sale at the market that I should buy.

Her name was Eleanor and we got along very well.

Speaking of the Oklahoma tornado, here is a post with various ways you can help. Any and all help is desperately needed right now.

I should really look into purchasing a new digital camera. The one I have currently takes pictures like this:

And while I can’t figure out exactly what is wrong with it, I’m sure it’s probably not fixable. At least not fixable in any sort of affordable way.

Now that we’re getting hints of sun and the ground has gone from white to green, I’d like to go on photo walks again. I’ve missed it.

My apologies for making a post primarily about weather. I hope you’ll forgive me.

I’m off to bed soon. The tapping of rain upon my window will serve as my lullaby. I hope you, whoever is still reading this, are able to drift to sleep in a similarly peaceful fashion.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

