Home > 2016, Personal, Thoughts > The Space Between

The Space Between

In January, I received a phone call. That phone call was to let me know that my grandfather did not have much longer to live and that a second phone call would soon come to let me know when he was gone. It was a very difficult and strange stretch of time between those phone calls. My mind raced, my heart felt as though a dagger had been plunged into it, I couldn’t sleep, I barely ate.

Then the second call came. And I grieved. Still am.

Now, once again, I find myself pressed by the weight of the space between two horrible phone calls. On Easter Sunday, I received word that my father has gotten worse. Much worse. When the hospice nurse came to check my father, when she had a moment to go over the hospice handbook with my mother and sister, she turned to one of the last pages in that book. One marked “From Days to Hours”. Another nurse called this stage “a walk through the strawberry field”.

This is where we find ourselves. My mind is again racing, my heart brings pain with every beat, I have barely slept the last two nights and have only eaten when I have been reminded to do so.

I hate this. I hate this so much. I feel lost. I feel numb, though not numb enough.

My father, my hero, my friend. He is half a country away, soon to be further than I or anyone else can reach, and there is nothing I can do.

The tears are blurring this as I type and I need to dress for work. Not even sure why I’ve written this, other than to get it somewhere outside my own head.

Hug your family. Tell them you love them.

Categories: 2016, Personal, Thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

